Antimedia

Goodbye Facebook

Posted in Facebook by Deputy city editor on January 9, 2010

I will shortly be gone from Facebook for good…. a passive-agressive action if ever there was one. Do I really have 94 friends? Do I want 94 friends? I have enjoyed recontacting old pals and making new acquaintances some of whom could become something more. I am not saying goodbye to Facebook because I wish to say goodbye to any of them. It is that I cannot live within the architecture & conventions of this platform which is horrible and getting worse. It is hideously corporate, completely unaccountable, and treats its ‘members’ worse than I treat sheep. I think there is something pretty dishonest about this venture not least what they subject you to if you wish to completely deactivate your account and withdraw all of your data from their possession. My attentions will be refocused on my blogs.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. stan gold said, on January 9, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Yes. A fine idea and one I’ve been mulling over also. Thank you for pushing me a bit further toward the actual act.

  2. Leroy Scandal said, on February 23, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    I deactivated my facebook account two weeks ago
    and then deleted it yesterday.


Leave a Reply

