Antimedia

Posted in Mexico by Deputy city editor on March 9, 2010

Much have I travell’d in the realms of gold,
And many goodly states and kingdoms seen;
Round many western islands have I been
Which bards in fealty to Apollo hold.
Oft of one wide expanse had I been told
That deep-brow’d Homer ruled as his demesne;
Yet never did I breathe its pure serene
Till I heard Chapman speak out loud and bold.
Then felt I like some watcher of the skies
When a new planet swims into his ken;
Or like stout Cortez, when with eagle eyes
He star’d at the Pacific – and all his men
Look’d at each other with a wild surmise –
Silent, upon a peak in Darien.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sauvequipeut said, on March 12, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    Journalist and poet !

    • Jonathan Miller said, on March 20, 2010 at 12:37 pm

      I did not credit Keats because I wanted readers (if any) to recognise it for themselves. Keats was a ghastly imperialist but had a way with words. Looking on the Pacific from our beautiful casa in Mexico made me remember Stout Cortez – although of course he was in Panama, not Mexico, and at a higher altitude. It came to mind as I absorbed the particular wonderment of this enormous horizon, of water to Japan!


Leave a Reply

