Antimedia

A new confession

Posted in Mika, music by Deputy city editor on January 9, 2008

Rather like Bertie Wooster taking up the ukelele, I have succumbed to an enthusiasm that annoys those close to me. More embarrassing still, it is for the entertainer known as Mika, who pleases me exceptionally. I feel I must defend myself hence am provoked to offer the usual 13 reasons why je suis séduit.

13. How can you dislike someone who makes so many people happy?

12. He has a terrific voice.

11. He is more than a musician but a theatric entertainer, a weird supercharged amalgam of Sinatra, Michael Jackson and Freddie Mercury. His concert at the Olympia Paris last year (available on DVD with much else) was historic. I know this sounds like hyperbole but watch it for yourself.

10. Maybe he doesn’t yet and probably never will dance as well as Michael Jackson used to – but he has plenty of energy and I reckon he’s working on his steps.

9. He is the only person in recent memory to have made Croydon amusing, in the bouncing, beautiful, funny, touching video for Big Girl (You Are Beautiful). This film made in the Croydon marketplace and on the high street, and co-starring hundreds of local extras, is a rival for Elton John’s I’m Still Standing, as one of the great, happy, stomping on-location dance videos of all time. (I can feel mes proches groan.)

8. Mika may have had a confused education but he is not stupid. His work is pop but classically referenced pop – from Grace Kelley to Freddie Mercury and the chairman of the board. If it is schlock, it is really high-class schlock.

7. If he’s gay – so what? It is probably more nuanced than that. So what? again.

6. He’s funny because he’s a bit tortured. He says he was bullied at school (Lycée Français CDG in London, as it happens). I can imagine he might have been somewhat precious. Musicians are often weird, hence often bullied. Having failed to kill the artist, this can make him stronger. It’s no good being not odd if you want to make art.

5. Something about his story doesn’t quite add up. His official biography is a bit – difficult. I don’t mind a bit of mystery, though.

4. He has surrounded himself with terrifically creative people and creates great collaborative performances with them. While remaining indisputably the star.

3. He speaks French.

2. He includes a beautiful , funny shot of a Muslim woman in the Croydon video of Big Girl (etc.). I am sure this was highly intentioned.

1. I wish he would make a video in my garden. And he should bring the Big Girls.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lori said, on March 16, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I’ll just be the first to say that I love Mika as well as this post. I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  2. Marilyn Mastin said, on March 16, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Thank you for the wonderful piece on the brilliant MIKA! I absolutely love him, he’s so brilliant. I do get tired of the Mercury comparrisons though, because he’s proved with his performances and concerts, that he is a unique individual, and after all, everyone has something about them that reminds people of someone else.
    But it’s so good to read a piece that is so complementary. Poor Mika often gets disrespected, and I can never understand why that is! As you say yourself, he makes people so happy. His music is amazing and his voice is legendary. Love love MIKA!!

  3. Sparkly1 said, on March 17, 2008 at 1:47 am

    😀 you “get” Mika, some day I hope more will do the same then they can give him a break and give him the respect he deserves, he has a kind soul, and yes indeed he DOES make people happy and not just by his music.

    He is undeniably wonderful to his fans too. His sense of humour is great he seems to have the whole package going on and maybe this is why some ppl don’t like him, I guess that is their opinion, it doesn’t make it right though :S

    anyway I’m glad you see more to him than some care to and voiced it in your blog 😀

  4. Ruth said, on March 18, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Jonathon Miller! I’m surprised but highly delighted to read this. I agree totally with your 13 points about Mika; very well put!

  5. Helena Frith Powell said, on April 1, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    and reason number 14, your goddaughter and siblings of goddaughter and goddaughter’s mother all love him too and know all the words x


Leave a comment